I soften the butter in the kitchenaid with the paddle attachement, use fresh baking soda, mix the dough with a wooden spoon to avoid overmixing, let it rest overnight in the fridge, make high balls instead of round ones, une parchemin paper and only bake like 6 cookies at the time. Thank you! If your pignoli cookies are turning out flat, it's likely because you're using too much sugar. if i were to use my hands, is it okay if the cookie dough are shaped like cylindrical in shape as opposed to balls? Is there a specific kind that seems to crack more? I would really appreciate your help. Im a fairly experienced baker and I do not know how there are so many recipes for easy thumbprint cookies when mine failed three times! Editors tip: Heres a guide to the difference between butter, margarine, shortening and lard. If the butter is any warmer, it wont incorporate enough air and your cookies will have less rise. The dough should feel soft, slightly sticky, but mostly tacky. Without the right proportions of either of these components, your cookies will not look quite right. Coat in the pine nuts then arrange on a lined baking sheet. You think youve made the perfect batch of cookies, and then, boom, they look like theyve dripped all over the oven or at least they ended up as flat as a pancake and not that deliciously chunky cookie you expected. However, if your cookies come out of the oven and its too late to fix them, its time for plan B: re-purpose them. Mix well, Then add the flour. Could it be that this is due to the dough being too cold? I always prefer to do a test cookie first and foremost, and if its too flat, I then add about 1 to 2 tablespoons of flour to the dough and repeat with a test. Preheat oven to 325F. Wrong oven temperature can make your cookies spread as well. Butter can accidentally heat up if its mixed for too long. I have even tried using a combined egg white and milk coatings but it still happens. You know how youre supposed to use room temperature b